The Four Noble Truths of Buddhism Reflective in Modern Art Buddha Statues

2 Feet Meditation Buddha Statue

Buddhism is one of the major religions of the Indian subcontinent, which influenced its followers for over 2,500 years. The teachings of the Buddha are solely aimed to emancipate the sentient beings from the sufferings of the mortal world. The teachings of Siddhartha Gautama revolve around some of the core pillars of Buddhism. The teachings revolve around the Four Noble Truths, the Three Universal Truths, and the Noble Eightfold Path.

When we look at the creation of ancient to modern art Buddha statues, then we would find that their architecture, expressions, and postures are inspired by these noble truths. That is the reason why, before you bring the next Buddha stone statue for home, it is suggestive to learn about their significance in terms of these four noble truths.

MUST READ: The Artistic Legacy of Odisha- The Birthplace of Stone Carved Buddha Statues

2 Feet White Marble Buddha Statue
  • The First Noble Truth: The first truth reflects the realities of the life. The suffering is inevitable till the time a person resides in this mortal world. Here, the person is not only required to overcome physical but mental sufferings as well. These sufferings function within a cycle and there is always a beginning and an end to it. It is important for the individual to realise this truth and work to overcome the reasons behind the suffering.
  • The Second Noble Truth: The second truth ascertains the reason behind the suffering. Here, according to the Buddha, desire and ignorance are two of the key reasons behind most of the sufferings. The desire for materialistic needs and the lack of capacity to focus and insight mentally, the mind of the individual stays underdeveloped. The vices like envy, greed, anger, and hatred result in the rise of ignorance. Controlling them shall remain one of the key steps to uplift an individual from the vicious cycle of desire and ignorance.
  • The Third Noble Truth: In this penultimate truth, one can overcome suffering by reaching the stage where there is no existence of suffering at all. As per the Buddha, there are two ways to overcome these sufferings. One is to wait for the end of life in this world, and the second is attaining salvation through Nirvana. Once the enlightenment is achieved by the mortal, he or she can eliminate the factors from the life that eventually result in suffering.
  • The Fourth Noble Truth: The ultimate noble truth from the Buddha suggests the ways through which one person might end the suffering in his or her life. The Buddha lectures his disciples to follow the noble eightfold paths that are somehow integral to different stages of our lives. The exploration of this truth helps in the creation of an atmosphere where one can move closer to the righteous Buddhist path.
Lifecycle Buddha Statue By Stonemart

MUST READ: Delving into a Brief History of the Buddhist Art

We are going to discuss about this eightfold path of the Buddha in one of the upcoming pieces of blogs. There, we are going to tell you how the selection of the right Buddha stone statue can pave the path to explore the truth about redemption in life.

In the modern collection of stone carved Buddha statues, the exploration of the four noble truths can be done by different mudras of the lord. These include dhyana mudra, bhumisparsha mudra, dharmachakra mudra, vitarka mudra, abhaya mudra, etc. Visit Buddha statues to come across an exquisite collection of Buddha statues for sale as per the ancient lessons on the noble truth revealed by the lord. Get in touch with our service representative online to learn more!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *